Things to know about marriage in Illinois
Getting hitched soon in Chicago or suburban Cook County? The Cook County Clerk’s vital records office is the place to go getting a marriage or civil union license is quick and easy under Illinois law only eligible persons can marry or have a civil union both partners must be 18 years of age or older we have same-sex or opposite-sex first civil union not be blood relatives couples must appear together at one of the Cook County Clerk’s office locations couples must present valid identification with proof of age fill out and sign a license application and pay the license fee of 60 marriage and civil union licenses are issued to you while you wait effective the following calendar day after the licenses issued valid for 60 days an effective only in Chicago and suburban Cook County to get married by a judge contact the Cook County marriage and civil union court for 10 Judges married couples in Chicago City Hall into five suburban courthouses reservations are not accepted downtown but reservations are required in the suburbs after your ceremony occurs the officiant performing the ceremony must complete the bottom portion of the marriage license and mail are delivered to the clerk’s office once our office receives the license you may obtain a copy of their certified marriage certificate marriage and civil union certificates are 15 for the first copy and 4 for each additional copy wallet-sized certificates are also available there are five ways to order a certificate in person online by phone by mail and add a currency exchange a beautiful keepsake of your special day as a commemorative certificate designed by local artists and printed on campus find out more at Cook County Clerk comm if you are changing your name each agency and institution will ask you for proof of your marriage or civil unions you will need copies of your marriage or civil union certificate then contact the Social Security Administration office the Secretary of State for driver’s license or state ID your election authority to update your voter registration and your personal financial institutions such as credit cards, banks and utilities for more information on marriage and civil union licenses and certificates visit cook Toni clerk com Music you. A marriage license in the state of Illinois is only valid for 60 days, one day after it is issued by the County Clerk’s Office. For information on purchasing a marriage or civil union license, or to receive a certified copy of your marriage or civil union license, please call the Cook County Clerk’s Office, Office of Vital Records at (312) 603-5664. To get a marriage license without parental consent in DuPage County you must be over 18. Eighteen-year-olds must bring a certified copy of their birth certificate to the clerk’s office.
Marriage/Civil Union licenses for anyone that will be married or joined in civil union in Marshall County may be obtained from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Office of the County Clerk. The County Clerk’s Office now offers for your convenience an online application for either a Marriage License or a Civil Union License. Ever since June 1, 2011, every county clerk’s office has issued civil union licenses along with their marriage licenses. For more information, be sure to visit www.usmarriagelaws.com
Requesting a Certified Copy: You may obtain a certified copy of your marriage license if it was issued in Hamilton County, IL from the County Clerk’s Office. Officiant to the ceremony must return the license to the County Clerk’s Office within 10 days after the date of the marriage. You may be required to provide proof of your out-of-state marriage such as a copy of your marriage license from another state, but you do not need to obtain a new Illinois marriage license from the county clerk’s office.
Copies of a certified marriage license may be obtained in person at the County Clerk’s office, upon written mailed request or on-line using Illinois e-Pay. The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office by the officiant of the ceremony within TEN DAYS after the date of civil union. The license must be returned to the County Clerk’s Office by the officiant of the ceremony within TEN DAYS after the date of marriage.
Return of License: The Officiate to the ceremony must return the license to the County Clerk’s Office within 10 days after the date of the marriage. You can get a certified copy of your marriage license if it was issued in Williamson County, IL from the County Clerk’s Office.